Skip to content

Sherlock Tales in Singapore!

September 13, 2012

It was an honour to meet Jilly Sherlock when she made a stopover in Singapore as part of her solo journey to travel around the globe on her bike.

Here’s an email that she wrote to us before flying to New Zealand to continue her journey (photos courtesy of: Jilly Sherlock).

“On Saturday 9th April 2011 at 11:12 am I set off from my home town in England to embark on a solo mission to circumnavigate the globe by bicycle,

My journey has taken me through 26 countries so far. I have followed the winding route of the River Danube in Europe, struggled with the short yet steep climbs of the jagged Black Sea coastline of Turkey, battled through rain and rocky roads through Georgia, ascended five mountain passes in Armenia before facing the desert and mountains of Iran, the 5 day dash through the Karakum desert in Turkmenistan, admired the wonders of the ancient Silk Road cities of Uzbekistan and the beauty and challenge of the high altitude plateau of the Pamir Mountains (up to 4667m) in Tajikistan.

Winter time saw me fighting my way through the inhospitable Taklamakan Desert of China, camping in sand dunes or in tunnels under the road and trying desperately to keep warm and avoid frostbite. I then headed south towards Laos and into South East Asia where my new challenges were searing heat, jungle and humidity. Having cycled over 18000km through temperatures ranging from -30’C to +45’C through sandstorms, blizzards and monsoons I have now reached Singapore, the end of the Eurasian landmass. I decided to head to Sumatra to cycle across the equator and to climb an active volcano before returning to Singapore where the next part of my journey is about to begin.

One of the highlights of my journey has been the people I have met and the incredible kindness I have encountered with strangers on the road. Yak farmers in Tajikistan took me into their home and gave me yaks liver and bread and then ate my leftovers, in Iran people stopped me in my tracks to welcome me to Iran and to invite me into their homes, people in cars, buses and trucks have stopped to give me water, apples, bread, cheese, bananas and even beer! People often believe that the world is dangerous especially for a woman cycling alone yet I have learnt that people want to help not to harm.

It was tremendous to be put in contact with the guys at Attitude Bikes in Singapore who have serviced my Rohloff hub, changed my cables and replaced my chain. A wonderful service and a great shop!

I am flying out to New Zealand in 2 days time and I plan to cycle around both North and South island covering some 5000km before heading to South America where I aim to cycle the length of the Andes from the south to the north. You can follow my journey on sherlocktales.blogspot.com or SherlockTales on Facebook.”

AttitudeBikes would like to wish Jilly all the best in the rest of her adventure around the world! Ride safe!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

